Addey and Stanhope School was formed by the merger of two schools. The Stanhope School was founded in 1715 and The Addey School was founded in 1821.
The Stanhope School was set up for 50 boys and 50 girls by Dean George Stanhope, vicar of Deptford and Lewisham, and a group of people in Deptford.
John Addey was a local shipwright who died in 1606 leaving £200 to be invested for the relief of the poor of Deptford. The money was used to buy a piece of land, and the rent given every year to the poor. In 1820, the trustees felt that giving away money each year was to encourage laziness, so they decided to found The Addey School as an alternative.
After the 1870 Education Act, when the Government took responsibility for elementary education, the Stanhope School closed and its governors decided to use the money to send a few children to other schools.
By 1891 the Addey School governors felt that their school was no longer necessary, and so in 1894 the two sets of governors decided to join forces to found the Addey and Stanhope School for Art and Science. The school moved onto its present site in 1900.
Addey and Stanhope is a voluntary aided school which means that the Governors own the land and buildings and directly employ the staff.
Our annual Founders' Day is a wonderful opportunity for the whole school community to come together to commemorate and celebrate our achievements past and present. We celebrate over 300 years of our school and we are proud of our rich history.
Generations of Addeyans come together on the evening of each Founders' Day to re-connect with old friends, make new ones and network with current staff and students. If you would like to be kept up to date with future events, please contact Helen Lucken, PA to the Headteacher here.